• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

wireless probes

Millberry

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
515
363
Joined Nov 12, 2020
First-- Are wireless meat probes accurate? If so, what kind do you recommend? MEATER brand is all I see
 

SmokinAl

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
46,751
7,593
Joined Jun 22, 2009
The one Murray posted sure looks like a winner, but I would wait until a bunch of other folks buy it & at least someone on here reviews it. If it performs as the ad says it would be awesome for a rotisserie.
Al
 

Millberry

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
515
363
Joined Nov 12, 2020
The one Murray posted sure looks like a winner, but I would wait until a bunch of other folks buy it & at least someone on here reviews it. If it performs as the ad says it would be awesome for a rotisserie.
Al
Thank you
 

dr k

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,641
552
Joined Mar 22, 2013

Too pricey for me but for a rotisserie they would be the cat’s meow.
One probe is $60+, 2 probes $100+. If lids on cooking vessel are open, then open air BT reception is 33ft. If closed, 10ft. Then you need their $60 repeater range extender to 165ft. Then you need another wifi device and the configuration on their pro app to go wifi through your gateway. I'm out!
 

dirtsailor2003

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
21,776
3,749
Joined Oct 4, 2012
So I have the Meater+ and the Meater Block.

The meater+ has worked flawlessly and it is my go to therm. You do have t oput the repeater near the smoker to get any sort of range. This is okay unless it is raining, snowing etc. I put it in a ziplock to solve that issue.

The Block has been hit and miss. I've been through 2 units and now it the new one wont update which has rendered it unusable. CI has been lack luster. So wouldn't recommend it.

I have found that I really dont need multiple probes anymore as I am not cooking large cooks like I used to. It id nice being able to monitor rotisserie cooks. The meater probe reads ambient and internal and it seems to be accurate. The internal probe is spot on. the ambient temp is a bit more finicky. The ambient probe also has limitations (low and high). I can't off hand remember what the upper and lower temp is for the ambient.
 

Millberry

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
515
363
Joined Nov 12, 2020
One probe is $60+, 2 probes $100+. If lids on cooking vessel are open, then open air BT reception is 33ft. If closed, 10ft. Then you need their $60 repeater range extender to 165ft. Then you need another wifi device and the configuration on their pro app to go wifi through your gateway. I'm out!
Thanks so much
 

Millberry

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
515
363
Joined Nov 12, 2020
So I have the Meater+ and the Meater Block.

The meater+ has worked flawlessly and it is my go to therm. You do have t oput the repeater near the smoker to get any sort of range. This is okay unless it is raining, snowing etc. I put it in a ziplock to solve that issue.

The Block has been hit and miss. I've been through 2 units and now it the new one wont update which has rendered it unusable. CI has been lack luster. So wouldn't recommend it.

I have found that I really dont need multiple probes anymore as I am not cooking large cooks like I used to. It id nice being able to monitor rotisserie cooks. The meater probe reads ambient and internal and it seems to be accurate. The internal probe is spot on. the ambient temp is a bit more finicky. The ambient probe also has limitations (low and high). I can't off hand remember what the upper and lower temp is for the ambient.
I sure appreciate that. Guess I will wait for new technology. Good report!
 

Millberry

Smoking Fanatic
SMF Premier Member
515
363
Joined Nov 12, 2020
One probe is $60+, 2 probes $100+. If lids on cooking vessel are open, then open air BT reception is 33ft. If closed, 10ft. Then you need their $60 repeater range extender to 165ft. Then you need another wifi device and the configuration on their pro app to go wifi through your gateway. I'm out!
No Kidding Thank you
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.