What smoker would be good for me

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

iceman6409

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Apr 11, 2016
Rochester, NY
So as I get into this smoking meat thing it occurred to me to figure out what solution is best for my needs since I am a newbie.  Currently I have an 18" Weber kettle that I did one smoke on last week.  Turned out good.  Since I know nothing about this smoking world in general I though i would lay out what I would like to do and see what you all think would be the best solution for my needs.  First and foremost I live alone.  I definitely will not be smoking a lot of meat as I still like to grill low and slow steaks and stuff.  I may want to do some smoking to do a little freezing for later every now and then.  I won't be doing those massive smokes that I see pictures of everywhere.  And boy those look good by the way.  So a rack of ribs or two, some pork butt and what have you every now and then.  What style smoker do you all suggest?

If your budget allows. Just from personal experience. Get the biggest smoker you can reasonably afford. I started with a small kettle. Then a small offset and now a 1000 pound Klose smoker within 2 years. Better to have more space then less.

Masterbuilt Electric 40" or Webber Smokey Mountain depending on which method you want to use

They're both great starter smokers. I started with an MES 30" and immediately regretted choosing to buy the smaller smoker.

Masterbuilt Electric 40" or Webber Smokey Mountain depending on which method you want to use

They're both great starter smokers. I started with an MES 30" and immediately regretted choosing to buy the smaller smoker.
yeahthat.gif

MES 40---Go for it !!

Generation #1 or Gen #2.5.