What do you consider essential smoking accessories, tools along with other questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

nomad_archer

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Oct 21, 2019
Brickerville, PA
I am new to smoking and found a like new 18 WSM at a price I couldn't pass up. So now that I have a smoker I realize there is an untold number of tools, accessories, and gadgets out there. I am hoping some of you are willing to chime in on what are the worthwhile and must have tools and accessories to have before getting started.

While we are at it any advice on something simple to start with for the first cook? Does the WSM need seasoned? The prior own said it was used 3 times and it looks like it saw hardly any use.

Finally any general advice and techniques to help me along the learning curve with the WSM would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

If the previous owner said it was used three times it wouldn't need to be re-seasoned but if I were you I would light up some coals and run it as you would if you were putting meat on. This will give you an opportunity to kind of learn it and play with the temp adjustments and what not.

As far as accessories go the first and most important would be a remote probe thermometer. Get a two or four probe and save yourself a lot of hassle. Inkbird and Thermopro run some deals on amazon and make quality units. Make sure you have plenty of foil and foil pans to make things easier during the cook and for cleanup. Some heat resistant gloves or a good set of tongs also come to mind.