Warm Smoky Greetings from NC/SC

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smoky pit

Original poster
Jul 3, 2016
Charlotte, NC
Hello SMF!

I'm Mike, and happy to be joining you from along the NC/SC border.  Happy that I found this forum, and excited to be a member of your community.  I look forward to learning and participating in the activities!

A bit about my 'Q history:  I've been smoking meats fairly steadily for about ten years.  I got started on the good ole' bullet and water smokers, and soon after scored a Klose Pits offset model.  Loved it for many years, until one day it was gone...stolen!  Frustrating but certainly a learning experience for me as far as backyard security.  It won't be happening again (hopefully)!

Just recently I made the hike down to GA and picked up a new A-1 from Custom Pits and Fabrication.  Apparently there models from several years back had some construction challenges from firebox size, volume of air to the firebox and draft/exhaust.  They got those matters resolved and I discussed their new models and process at-length before buying.  There new offerings are nice, and the A-1 Competition model I bought is well-made and a solid performer.  She has a off-set firebox with a reverse flow pit.  To boot, it features a propane burner for deep frying and seafood boils, plus a pretty large charcoal grill.

Given my location, I'm a big fan of hickory paired with a little oak and sometimes fruit tree woods.  I enjoy all the standard 'Q offerings, plus my family is into low country dishes.

Looking forward to sharing a lot of experiences with y'all, and learning in the process!

All the best - 

Mike