UK Wiltshire Newbie

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

HeyBertHeyErnie

Original poster
Jun 16, 2018
Hi all, I'm a passionate home cook, who has a sous vide, more kitchen gadgets than you can shake the proverbial stick at, and a real drive to cook everything perfectly at least once.

TBH, I got bored of sous vide steak, and it's more hassle than its worth sometimes. I've always been good at what I used to call BBQ (now I call it charcoal grilling, quick learner me ) I felt BBQ was a gap in my cooking knowledge, I don't like gaps in my cooking knowledge. After much BBQ internet wormholeing, trying to decide whether to brick build, buy kettle, offset, ceramic, make my own flowerpot smoker, you get the idea I saw a really good build post on this site for a brick smoker, but it was huge (the best bloody hole I ever saw). I purchased Jeffs rub and sauce recipes, but still didn't even have a smoker yet. I finally decided to get a Landmark Kentucky offset, and I might even build it creatively based on a few things I've picked up. Either way, I'll be taping joints, and modding thermometers, getting a feel for the whole thing before I design my own brick smoker in the future.

I have a lot on, full time job, ou degree, young son, but I fully intend to post here pretty often, or at least lurk with the odd creative sarcastic comment

Looking forward to getting to know you all, and learning how to BBQ.

Reactions: kruizer
Hi HBHE and welcome to the forum. There is a very active BBQ community here in the UK and a few of us chat on here. It is great that you have decided to explore extending your BBQ skills and hope that you explore them to their full.