Summer Sausage Definition

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

fajitapot

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 3, 2019
Hello all, browsing and searching through the forum here (I'm a newbie, though experienced professionally) I noticed that many of the Summer Sausage recipes I see posted here don't include cultures at all. Those that buy pre-blended spice mixes probably have it included already (I suspect). Now I'm not looking to debate the pros and cons of the dozens of cultures available necessarily, but it IS my understanding that Summer Sausage is fermented slightly (with culture) in a warm room for 24 hours or so before smoking. Correct me if I'm wrong, but it seems to me that many people don't do this. Aside from generally blending different proteins and bringing them up to a temp near 140℉ with at least the partial use of smoke (often finished with the oven or immersion circulator, etc), doesn't Summer Sausage have to be slightly cultured and fermented by definition?

Not looking for a fight! I'm new here and am well familiar with the hazards of wandering into forums blindly. But I am curious to know what you guys think.

Thanks!

Not sure of the proper definition, but most people around here consider summer sausage a cured smoked sausage in a large caliber casing.
But yes you're right old school summer sausage would contain cure #2 and a culture then fermented. Both are good.
Welcome to the forums

Cool Where are ya now? I'm sure others will be along to to give ya a better explanation, I just thought I'd let ya know you're right and not going crazy

Cool Where are ya now? I'm sure others will be along to to give ya a better explanation, I just thought I'd let ya know you're right and not going crazy