St Louis Ribs

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

KHert

Original poster
Jul 30, 2019
as a newbie we went to our local BBQ store, Meadow Creek in New Holland PA, and just started looking for rubs and sauces and just get some ideas. While we were looking around a very nice gentleman helped us out and told us what he does with his ribs. Unfortunately in my embarrassment as a newbie I never asked him his name.

Anyway, he pointed us to a few rubs that he likes and then gave us his cooking recipe. We are cooking on a Camp Chef pellet Grill. My fear is that I forgot one of his directions.

as I remember he said:
Cook at 275
After 1 hour, spray with blue bottle butter
After 2 hour wrap in foil with a mixture
After 3 hour they are finished. Test by IT at 195 or when you pick up from the center the ends do NOT lift up.

I am a little worried I missed something after the foil. So my question is, does the above sound okay for very tasty ribs?

Thank you for the help and if that kind gentleman reads this, thanks again for the help and sorry I didn’t get your name.

Kevin Hertzog

I'm a St. Louis snob, they are my favorites and I'll tell ya how I do them.

No need to remove the membrane, it'll basically cook off and it helps hold the racks together and retain more moisture.

Rub them with whatever ya like, no boundaries.

Fire up your grill, 225°-275°, anywhere in that range is good.
I like cherry, apple, hickory and oak for smoke, and often mix woods.

Cook bones down the whole time.

I sometimes spritz or mop, but not always.
I don't wrap, no 321, 311, 221 or anything like that, just bide my time and let'em cook.
I don't glaze unless by special request.
Average time is right about six hours give or take.