Smokin Pastor

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

imjohnnykelley

Original poster
Jan 7, 2014
Hey there guys and gals. My name is Johnny. I live in Lakeland Florida. I am a pastor. And I have a problem. I am addicted to meat. It has been 3 hours since my last meat. And I have no intention of quitting. 

Whew, glad to get that off my chest. Haha.

I am new to smoking. Got an ECB for Christmas and am excitedly learning how and what to do. Have friends and family that are into it and giving me help, but this forum has been a huge help as well. On day 5 of the e-course. I have been a griller for years, and am actually going to be converting my 55 gallon barrel grill into an offset smoker this summer. So excited about that. Trying to figure out what the best first meats to smoke right now. Any tips? 

Thanks for all the knowledge you have already given me, and I look forward to mixing it up with you all on the boards! Talk to you soon!

Johnny

Welcome Pastor JohnnyK!  What the heck are you doing up at 3 o'clock in the morning in Florida?!  Wait, what the heck am I doing up at midnight in California!?  Oh yeah, thinking about smoking meat!!!!!

Best first meats?  Chicken.  Spare Ribs.  Smaller butts.  All are good learning meats and require minimum preparation.

Glad you're here!!!  Now you can feed your flock in more than one way!!!!   

Reactions: jloom
[h1]
texas.gif
Hello and welcome from East Texas. This is a great site, lots of information and great people that are willing to throw in their two cents worth on about anything.   
[/h1][h1]  [/h1][h1]Gary[/h1]