Smoker went out

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MossburgTX

Original poster
Jun 19, 2021
Hey y’all I am somewhat new to smoking meat on my Weber Vertical Black Bullet Smoker. I thought I would try and overnight smoke and of course, the smoke/fire went out. Details below. The main question- is it okay to eat?

-smoking : pork shoulder at 8.5 lbs
-Put the meat on the smoker at 11:20 PM.
-Average temp cooking from 11:20-2:30 about 230 degrees.
-At 2:30 AM I went to bed and the internal temp of the meet was 132.5. The grill was at 250 degrees.
-I woke up at 4:00 and the internal temperature of the meat was 123 degrees with the smoker being 100 degrees. I rushed down and got the smoker up in a matter of minutes to about 200 before I took a deep breath.
-I don’t know what happened between the time 2:30 - 4:00. The temperature seems like it would have gone down slowly especially since the smoker started at 250 degrees but I don’t know the decreasing rate.
-Once done smoking the pork shoulder the internal temp will be around 200 degrees maybe 205 because of this.

All in all, should I eat it?

I’m going back and forth because I know the 4-40-140 rule and technically I would not pass but with the unknown variables it seems like there is a possibility that I could.

thoughts?

I wouldn't even think about it. I'd run down to the store and pick up another Butt and toss it on ASAP.