Smoked Snow Goose Breasts

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

ryan johnson

Fire Starter
Original poster
Aug 25, 2012
Green Bay, Wisconsin
My friend who goes up to Saskatchewan, Canada snow goose hunting on an annual basis gave me some breasts to smoke.  He wanted to clean out his freezer and use them used up before this years trip coming up at the end of this month so he asked me to attempt to smoke them.  I am relatively new to smoking and I will be using a Green Mountain Grill pellet smoker to get this accomplished.  I have never eaten or cooked snow goose before so I honestly am not sure what to expect from this little adventure.  I thawed them this afternoon and let them sit in cold water the water was getting bloody quite often so I kept changing the water about every 15 minutes to get them cleaned up.  there was a little bit of fat on the outside from field dressing them so i removed it. After a few hours of changing the water and rinsing the meat it cleared up very nicely.

The snow goose breasts are very lean and meaty and they have very little fat in them so I'm worried about them drying and during the smoking process so I put them in a brine solution that consists of the following ingredients:

12 cups water (3/4 gallon)

4  cups apple juice (1/4 gallon)

1  cup dark brown sugar

1  cup kosher salt