Smoked Butts Learning the Importance of IT

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

caleb

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jun 2, 2013
Atlanta, GA
Yesterday I smoked my first boston butts. One was boneless just shy of 4 lbs and the other was bone in around 5.5 lbs. I also smoked a pork loin at the same time, and since I'm a newbie I mis judged the time it takes to smoke these pretty hardcore. I'm using a MES 30" and added apple wood chips about every hour or so.

So now you know the context here is what happened. I started out cooking at 225 and left it there for about 3 hours. I then noticed the loin was cooking way to fast for the timing in which I needed it to be done for when we had people over. I wanted to take it to about an IT of 140-145 and it was 130ish at the 3 hour mark so I turned my smoker waaaaaay down to about 190. This bought me about 2 more hours but sacrificed my butts and really slowed them down. So the loin was done in about 5 hours and I let it sit for 2 hours before slicing it (not desired but just needed to wait because I wanted to keep it warm before we had people over.)