• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Simple question about stripping old fridge

Canadagrown

Fire Starter
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 5, 2019
Hey all. I attached a pic of the fridge I’m gonna start tearing apart. I messed up my last project and was no longer happy with it so I’m starting over. My question is how to remove the chrome pin striping and Frigidaire emblem at the top without damaging them so I can strip off the paint? I have very little experience working with metal. Thx. 91D67893-9353-4AA8-A645-7CE93C5E7880.jpeg

mike243

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 25, 2018
Well you don't have many choices, a lot of the old fridges had screws from the inside, if you are taking it apart take the door liner out and see if its screwed or clips. Good luck keep us informed, like watching projects coming together

Winterrider

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Sep 29, 2018
Like mike243 mike243 said , try from inside. If not, take a heat gun. Had an old one years ago that was basically siliconed on.

Canadagrown

Fire Starter
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 5, 2019
Had a progressive afternoon dismantling this thing. But now I’m at a crappy step, removing the tar from the inside. The stuff on the bottom was brittle and came right off, but the stuff on the sides and ceiling is still sticky and really tough going. Any tips? 01DDBB65-08C3-4BB1-918B-A4A4D5202464.jpeg 0EA79E63-B6E4-462A-9CC4-2753B86961CF.jpeg 16943D35-DFE4-4413-BD22-07D556C78BF8.jpeg

mike243

Master of the Pit
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 25, 2018
A heat gun and a putty knife oh and a lot of elbow grease

Canadagrown

Fire Starter
SMF Premier Member
Joined Feb 5, 2019
A heat gun and a putty knife oh and a lot of elbow grease