Seasoned vs Kiln dry wood

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Jack99

Original poster
Feb 4, 2021
So I’m relatively new to smoking meats and one thing I’ve come across from the “pros” watching YouTube videos is they seem to put their nose up a little at kiln dry wood vs their preferred seasoned wood to 20% water content or so.
In your experience does it really matter? One thing I’ve realized is it’s much harder to find “seasoned” wood than kiln dried wood online.

Seasoned. Kiln dried burns up to fast causing you to burn more fuel. Not sure where you live but should be easy to find seasoned wood on Craigslist

Reactions: uncle eddie
Thanks guess I’ll need to figure out how to get good seasoned wood. Kiln dried seems easy. guess I could try finding unseasoned and attempt to season it myself.

Thanks guess I’ll need to figure out how to get good seasoned wood. Kiln dried seems easy. guess I could try finding unseasoned and attempt to season it myself.
What kind of smoker are you using. Are you using wood for heat or are you using charcoal and just adding wood for smoke?

What kind of smoker are you using. Are you using wood for heat or are you using charcoal and just adding wood for smoke?
I’m using an Oklahoma Joes offset and yeah I’ve been being both lump oak charcoal as a base and kiln dried logs I bought off Amazon

Save your money bud and get some good seasoned wood. You will immediately notice a longer burn time and better smoke flavor. Wood needs a bit of moisture to produce a good flavorful smoke. Kiln dried burns too quickly and is too dry to achieve that