Save my Bacon !!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kaiser soze

Original poster
Mar 10, 2014
Oneonta, NY
I'm new to this whole thing about smoking, and I have I think , over smoked my bacon. I had 20 hours of heavy white smoke and I tasted ( with a finger) the coating on my 2 day old bacon.  I still can't feel my tongue.

Can I rinse this off ?

Is there some way to fix this short of throwing it out?  I'm sure it will be inedible if I wait too long and I don't want to throw it out, but it's nasty.

Thanks,

Eric

Your bacon will mellow out upon sitting in the reefer for awhile. 2 or 3 days, I usually let my bacon tell me by the exposed meat's texture. When it starts looking dry or hard its time to put it up (6 to 7 days normally). It makes a huge difference with any cured smoked meat. You should always let it mellow.

I am sure you could wash the outside of the bacon and it probably would help, I have never had to do so, so this is just my own guesstimation. There is no sense throwing it out if it doesn't mellow anyway, just trim off the outside of the slabs. I can not encompass anyone getting that much bitter smoke past the outer confines of the meat.

White smoke is not the objective of smoking meats, I am guessing you now know. It comes from an improper or incomplete burn cause and improper balance of heat, air, and most usually fuel. Its why folks talk about the thin blue smoke. If you have smoldering fuel and can not see the smoke you are doing all the good.

Hope it works out for you.