• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Sausage Recipes and Resources

solaryellow

Limited Mod
Group Lead
2,892
57
Joined Jul 26, 2009
The intent of this thread is to create a listing of online sausage recipes and resources and not a how-to thread. That being said, I will start with some of my favorites and edit this later when I have access to my bookmarks at home. Please feel free to add your own.

Recipes and instruction

Len Poli - http://lpoli.50webs.com/Sausage recipes.htm

Wedliny Domowe - http://www.wedlinydomowe.com/sausage-recipes

The Spicy Sausage - http://thespicysausage.com/sausagemakingrecipes.htm

Local Food Heroes - http://www.localfoodheroes.co.uk/index.php

Stuffers Supply Company - http://www.wwf5.com/stuffers.com/content/recipes/sausrecp.pdf

Northwest Smoking - http://web.archive.org/web/20010214020112/http:/home.att.net/~g.m.fowler/frame/Sausage1.htm

Hunter Angler - http://honest-food.net/cured-meat/fresh-sausages/

Let's Make Sausage - http://www.lets-make-sausage.com/index.html

Meat Processing Products - http://www.meatprocessingproducts.com/sausage-recipes.html

Sausage Debauchery - http://sausagedebauchery.blogspot.com/

Cured Meats - http://curedmeats.blogspot.com/

Portland Charcuterie Project - http://portlandcharcuterieproject.blogspot.com/

Onkel Heinz - http://www.onkelheinz.de/wurst.htm

ABZSpiez - http://www.abzspiez.ch/index.php?id=11

FAO - http://www.fao.org/docrep/010/ai407e/ai407e00.htm

OSU Sausage and processed meat formulations - https://kb.osu.edu/dspace/handle/1811/25224

Secrets of meat curing and sausage making - http://www.archive.org/details/secretsofmeatcur00bhelrich

Resources

Butcher & Packer - http://butcher-packer.com/

Mid-Western Research & Supply - http://www.midwesternresearch.com/

Sausage Maker - http://www.sausagemaker.com/

PS Seasoning - https://www.psseasoning.com/

Syracuse Casing Company - http://www.makincasing.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=EM419&Category_Code=2

Great American Spice Company - http://www.americanspice.com/

Savory Spice Shop - http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/

Dupey Equipment Co. - http://www.dupeyequipment.com/

Spices Etc. - http://www.spicesetc.com
 
Last edited:

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
8,668
844
Joined Jun 1, 2008
Thanks Joel.
 

jrod62

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
Group Lead
5,012
40
Joined Jun 13, 2011
Thanks.
Trying to read everything i can on sausage making.
This will help a lot .
 

SmokinAl

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
43,879
5,799
Joined Jun 22, 2009
Thank-you!
 

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,041
704
Joined Feb 3, 2009

chef jimmyj

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
18,386
2,813
Joined May 12, 2011
Last edited:

solaryellow

Limited Mod
Group Lead
2,892
57
Joined Jul 26, 2009
I can put all the other suggestions into the first post to make them easier to find if you guys are ok with it.
 

mballi3011

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
14,478
55
Joined Mar 12, 2009


Yes Joel please do your computer powers and make it easy for us old guys that still look for the on n off buttons on theses things. What was that charcuteria book or site that you told me about a while back.
 
Last edited:

chef jimmyj

Epic Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
18,386
2,813
Joined May 12, 2011
Please Do...JJ
 

boykjo

Sausage maker
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
Group Lead
7,098
515
Joined Apr 28, 2010
Great thread Joel.......  I usually dont do other recipes but Looking at all them........ I can hack them up with some ideas and come up with something really good I hope............

Joe
 

bratrules

Smoking Fanatic
339
17
Joined Jun 7, 2010
I have all those sites bookmarked. there is a lot of good methods and recipes on them!!!! thanks for posting
 

hoity toit

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,698
332
Joined Nov 4, 2011
An older friend,  Sonny Kanz and his brother used to make sausage here in New Braunfels using their old German family recipe. Simple but good.

This was Sonny Kanz’s grandfathers recipe circa 1850 or earlier from Germany. I was given this recipe by his wife after Sonny passed away several years ago. Sonny never would tell me. The saltpeter is a little hard to find around here.

50 lbs. Meat

5 oz black pepper = 1 oz per 10 lbs

1-1/4 lb salt = 4 oz per 10 lbs

½ teaspoon saltpeter

2-½ teaspoon garlic powder

1/8 oz red pepper

enjoy !

1-set casings for 50-60 links
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.