PID controller - Inkbird ITC-106VH

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Musson

Original poster
Apr 28, 2020
Hi everyone, i am new to the forum, I should have found this before!! So many things to read here..

So here is why i came for at first.. I have a bradley smoker, which i made a home made PID to control the temperature.

I have been running it with my actual setup for 2 years, and i finaly took time today to fix something that has been frustrating since day one, but never took time to fix it.

I don't know where in the settings i can find what i am looking for.

Right now, the temperature always go 7-10 degrees higher to 5-7 de grees lower. As when it reach the set temperature, the element are turned off, but the temperature still go up as the elements are still burning hot, and when it reach back the right temperature, by the time the element are heating at full capacity, it goes down by another 5-7 degrees.

So i always have 10-20 degrees off range in my smoker and i am almost sure i can fix that with my Inkbird ITC-106.

Like a quick on/off toggle so the temperature always stay at what it was set, 1-2 degrees off range.

So i came here wishing someone had an answer for me as i cannot find it anywhere else on the internet!

Thanks alot for you time :)

I agree, that’s not bad. I have about a 30 degree temp swing in my Cookshack, and it smokes just fine.

It smokes perfectly, that's why i've been usnig it like that for over 2 years hehe.

I just wanted it to perfection and i think i should be able to achieve that wit the Inkbird PID.

Maybe i am wrong, and i know its not really a problem. It's just that while I have the right tools, why not push it to perfection!