Newbie here. Wife who wants to surprise hubby with a smoker for Christmas. Help please!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

smokehousefam

Original poster
Nov 6, 2016
Hello All!

My name is Traci and I live in Southern Ohio and have a family of 4 with 2 dogs. We love BBQ! Pulled pork, ribs, brisket...mmmm! There are a couple good BBQ joints not too far away (City BBQ and Company 7 BBQ) and this year Hubby and I are going to Memphis in May for some delicious BBQ and to celebrate our anniversary. Our neighbor does some smoking on a smoker that he borrows from his brother-in-law and it makes the whole neighborhood smell so good.  He smoked fish for us once and it was the best fish I've ever eaten.

I want to buy my husband a meat smoker for Christmas. We want the flavor that wood and charcoal adds but I've heard it can be difficult to control the temperature. Not sure if that is true. I can spend up to $2,000 max. It needs to be fairly easy to operate and easy to clean. Reliable and long lasting without constant repairs is important too because this is an expensive purchase. I don't know which brands are best so I'm looking for some advice from you guys. Without knowing a lot about these and having never operated our grill myself, I'm at a disadvantage. That said, I like the Backwoods Smoker G2 Chubby from reading about it online. What do you think of this one? Any other smokers that you'd recommend?

I know I also need to buy a digital thermometer. Just one? Not sure what other accessories I would need to purchase though so if you can give any advice on other items, I'd appreciate it.

I'm excited to get to know all of you and I'm looking forward to learning, sharing, and making recipes posted here.