New to the smoke game

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Mbrown

Original poster
Aug 7, 2018
so I finally broke down and got into the smoking world. Proud new owner of the pit boss blue blazing 3 series (electric). My first smoke will be this weekend. I’m going to try and smoke a butt. From what I’ve read they seem to be the introductory meat to the smoke world.

North Mississippi boy, born and raised. I work in the lumber business. Served my country for 8 years. Now I fish tournaments and give my little girl a role model.

Anybody want to walk me through the process on this butt?! Going to buy a 5 or 6 pounder. Wood will be cherry and oak.

Super excited I was introduced to this forum.

Hello! Nice to meat you....;)
There's lots of great info on Pork Butts that you can find using the search feature in the menu, different methods and preparations to try. You'll find more than I can tell you.

Good places to start,
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/boston-butt-pulled-pork-step-by-step.140055/
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t...ith-judys-pretzel-buns-thanks-mossymo.253165/

- 2 good finishing sauce recipes,
Post #10
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/threads/first-smoke-advice.275127/#post-1826026
Post #5
https://www.smokingmeatforums.com/t...ing-up-is-it-ok-in-a-pan.277217/#post-1849149

Because it's more convenient or many smoker temp mechanisms are faulty, many people recommend you get a digital thermometer with a probe to monitor the smoker temperature and a probe to monitor meat internal temperature (you can buy them with more probes for more meat) that will alert you if either one gets too high or too low. For example,

Simplest breakdown:
  • Rub with mustard
  • Rub with rub
  • Put in smoker at 225℉