New to smoking

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Seth Sheeder

Original poster
Jan 7, 2018
I have a question since I’m new to the smoking world. When smoking meat like ribs for instance do you use woods chips the whole time you cook them or do you use wood chips for just part of the time? I have a masterbuilt 30” electric smoker.

Thanks

I don't have a electric smoker, but when smoking ribs on my stick burner or pellet grill, there's smoke for the entire cook.

I use the 3-2-1 method for my SL cut. 3 hr smoke, 2 hrs foiled, 1 hr no foil.

Lots of guys never wrap there ribs.

I suggest you try a partial smoke and increase the smoke until you get the flavor profile you like.

I have a stick burner so there is smoke the whole time.
But even before I got it, I would always let the smoke roll, unless the meat was in foil.

Al

I use wood the entire time, so there is always smoke. For an electric smoker, try smoking your ribs, using the wood chips, for the first 3 hours, then wrap them for the next 2 hours with no wood chips, then unwrapped for last hour with some bbq sauce added and no wood chips.

When doing my first couple smokes with my MES 30, I used wood chips with the standard chip tray and loader tube. I ended up buying the AMNPS and have been much happier with the smoke. I find it is a less intense smoke with the AMNPS vs. the stock arrangement. Since the heating element is constantly cycling on and off it seemed to produce thicker smoke at different times.