New to smoking and need advice on how much wood to use.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

The Noid

Original poster
Apr 25, 2018
I'm a total newbie to smoking. I just bought a Vision Komodo S series. For my first smoke I tried chicken breasts. I put 5 Breasts on, 4 wrapped and 1 not. I added about 5 or 6 chunks of hickory like the guys with this grill on YouTube did. Got good smoke for the first hour and a half to two hours. Then the wood chunks must've burned up. I took the breasts off after 4 hours even though I only had smoke for half the cook. The unwrapped breast had a perfect level of smoke flavor but the foil wrapped breasts had zero smoke flavor... I used dry chunks like the videos but their smoke seems to last the entire cook. You can't really add wood using this smoker so I need to know where I screwed up. I'm also assuming that the smoke should last the entire cook like in the videos I watched, is that true? Any advice will be much appreciated!

I believe smoke has a hard time passing through foil. I thought you meant wrapped in bacon. If you are worried about them being dry try wrapping in bacon. Layers of flavor and the fat keeps them moist.

Reactions: The Noid
Just because you don’t see smoke doesn’t mean you’re not getting it. Google thin blue smoke or transparent smoke. Obviously the wrapped breasts arent getting any smoke flavor if you wrapped them the entire cook or did you only wrap the last half?

They were wrapped the entire time. But I couldn't smell any wood smoke after 2 hours and when I took them off after 4 hours there was no wood left at all.

Wrapped in what?
If it is wrapped in anything non-edible, how who you expect any smoke to get to the chicken?