New to Smoking, and could use some help

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Bourbon and Meat

Original poster
Jun 17, 2022
I recently purchased a small electric smoker and am attempting to smoke a 2lb brisket. I am a complete rookie and the meat came pre-seasoned from Aldi. I am curious to an estimate of how long/temperature I should aim for? I have all day tomorrow but didn't know if this is something I can do tonight.

Reactions: JLeonard
I recently purchased a small electric smoker and am attempting to smoke a 2lb brisket. I am a complete rookie and the meat came pre-seasoned from Aldi. I am curious to an estimate of how long/temperature I should aim for? I have all day tomorrow but didn't know if this is something I can do tonight.

Is it a flat or a point?
If it is a small flat, then it is probably best to place it in an aluminum pan with beef stock and onion slices.

As for times, a general guideline is 1.5 to 2 hours per pound at 225° F.
At 250° F, then figure 1 to 1.5 hours per pound.
This is just a general guideline.

Personally, I would use either a meat skewer or even the probe of an instant read thermometer to check for tenderness in several places.
The brisket is done when you feel no resistance when probing.

Reactions: yankee2bbq
I've done a few of those Aldi pre-seasoned brisket flats. Take to 150~160° on the grate, and finish it in a covered foil pan with some liquid (beef stock, beer, etc) and pull it when it probes tender. It will come out great. I generally run the smoker at 275° for the first part of the cook, but you could go to 300 or a little above, once foiled.

Last edited:
Good advice right here. I've also looked at those small briskets at Aldi's. let us know how it turns out.
Jim