New Smokehouse Build Questions

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

sihunter

Original poster
I have been lurking for some time and this is my first actual post.

I have a Masterbuilt 40" that I have used for a while with the Amazen tray and pellets but would like to build something larger and came up with the idea of building an Old time smokehouse/electric smoker combination. It would be a 2 room smokehouse so to speak. The reason for this is that I would like to have a larger room for cold smoking summer sausage for example that takes up quite a bit of space. The smaller room then would be used for "hot" smoking for ribs, pork butts, brisket, etc. and I would like to use reverse flow for this room (maybe reverse flow would be best in both rooms I don't know). My questions are many but I will start with just a few.

1. For the hot smoke room I'm thinking the dimensions would be something like 3' wide by 6' tall and 2-3' deep. Would I need some type of heating element to get this room to 275 or so. I am open to using any materials except brick probably as I am not a brick layer.
2. Would I need to divert the heat some how if I was only cold smoking in the large room? If so how could that be done.
3. I would like to put this smokehouse on a small trailer if possible, say something like a 4x8. Would this even be possible?
4. I would also like to have the option to smoke with 2 different smokes at the same time. Say wood in a firebox and pellets at the same time. Would this be as simple as just using a pellet tray in the room?

If you guys think there is a better way to go about this I am looking for any ideas that way as well.

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback and ideas. Greatly appreciated.