New method of wrapping?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

golfpro2301

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
Jun 6, 2012
Jacksonville, FL
I am always tinkering with different things to try and get more tender and flavored meat. I take notes on every cook so I know what is working and what isn't. Plus it helps me out when preparing for competitions. I have done meat wrapped in foil, meat in steam pan with foil on top, meat wrapped in butcher paper. All had their own pros and cons. I head about the saran wrap method and tried that. First time the bark didnt stick so I took the meat to 175* the second time and wrapped and it turned out well good moisture on the inside. I am no meat expert so I could be wrong but wouldn't keeping as much of the juices in the meat while it is rendering better. Foiling you have a puddle after unwrapping, same as tenting in steam pan. I like this because I use the juices to dip pieces in before turning in my box. Butcher paper I believe it evaporates. Saran wrap a little still comes out. So I have been thinking of what you could do to make sure you lose no juices and I came up with an idea. What if when you went to wrap your meat you vacuum sealed it so it is air tight then wrap the vacuum seal in foil to protect from the heat. I dont know what the temp ratings are on this style of plastic but I would be interested in seeing the results. Anyone try this? 

Your wrap is after the smoke so it would be smoked but don't know about the end result. Golf I hope you try it as I would be interested in the finished product.CM