My first smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kat

Original poster
Nov 9, 2017
I have a Masterbuilt 20050211 Black Propane Smoker, 40-Inch

Ariving on Monday. The goal is to use it for turkey day.

I thought id try out the 2 proteins im planning on doing for thanksgiving prior to the day.

Turkey and brisket

I just came along these boards, and have been hearing great things about the amazin smoker. Is this something you would recommend for my smoker?

If so, what model?

How do you guys recommend seasoning the smoker?

I was advised to get a 5psi regulator, for the smoker. Do you guys agree?

Thanks!

I never heard anything about needing a regulator.

Amazin Smoker? that is those racks for pellets correct? Probably an option, but I think I'd just get Pecan Chips. I like Pecan with both Brisket and Poultry. If you want the smoke a little stronger make a mix of Hickory and Pecan Chips.

Do your research on Brisket. I highly suggest 225 for around 6 hours. once you get to 170-175 foiling it with some liquid to get it up 200-205 without drying it out. My first brisket wasn't optimal

Last edited:
I would not get a 5 PSI regulator if masterbuilt doesn't recommend it. A standard regulator should be just fine. I have toyed with higher pressure regulators for misguided reasons and went back to a standard regulator.