My first smoke is this weekend and I can use some advise!

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

gators2000

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Sep 22, 2011
West Central Florida
Just introduced myself last night in the role call last night and already have questions.  I was planning to start fairly simple and just do  some Chicken on Sunday.  But, much requests were made for Ribs as well so I'm doing both.  So, the plan is to do 2-3 nice slabs of baby backs and 2 whole chickens that as quartered.  I've read lots of past threads on how long to smoke them and the 2-2-1 method and think I have that all down pat.  My questions are a little more specific.  

First - This may seam very simple to some of you but it's my first time using this smoker.  How much Charcoal should I use to keep the grill at temp for 5+ hours?  Also, how much should be lit and burning and how much should be not lit when I get started?  Should I add more as the day goes?   

Second - I'm going to use wood chunks.  When I've smokes in the past on my little Weber kettle, I've just used chips and added more when it stopped smoking.  How much to start and how often should I add more?  Also, do you soak chunks like you do chips? 

FYI - My smoker is a Char Griller Smoken Pro with the side fire box.

Thanks in advance!  

Eric

Welcome Gators!!!

I can't help you with your question, as I am a "Watt-Burner", but Some guys will be along to help you soon!!

Bear