My Experience/Review with an Oklahoma Joe Longhorn Offset Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

uncle eddie

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
May 14, 2016
Central Missouri
My brother in law has a very well-equipped lake house that, among other things, has an Oklahoma Joe Longhorn offset smoker. Since I have been smoking meats for many years, my job at big family gatherings is to smoke supper for one of our meals. I used this smoker with varying success last year - I don't think my fire was hot enough - so this year I watched a few YouTube "How Too" videos. Things went much better, although it wasn't bad last year.

My personal smokers are an MES40 (my second one) and a Brinkmann Grill/Smoker. I have also used an old Brinkmann Bullet-type electric smoker extensively (what I started out on).

My review of the Okey Joe Longhorn Smoker follows:
  • I smoked 16 pork steaks for this review. The pork steaks were HUGE and I had to double them up to get them all to fit.
  • We were on the water too long and we were "hangry" and I was told to hurry things up of there would be hell to pay ha-ha - so I used a hot fire. SO - The 100% uncalibrated temperature gauge on the far side of the smoker was between 275F and 350F for this smoke.
  • If you like fiddling with the fire and baby-sitting the grill, this is the smoker for you. This is the full-on old-school smoking experience. You had better have a lot of time and a plentiful supply of your fave beverage. As I am a big fan of my set-it-and-forget-it MES40, fiddling with the fire does not interest me for long smokes but I did not mind it for the pork steaks.