MES30 and too much smoke from AMPS

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

meperson

Original poster
Jul 21, 2014
I am totally new to smoking and picked up an analog MES30 and an AMPS.  Unlike most, it seems, I'm generating too much smoke (mesquite and Pitmaster's blend pellets) from the AMPS, likely because the analog has no venting to allow the smoke to escape.  I drilled in four 3/8" holes on each side, two on the bottom, two on top.  I guess I feel like I'm generating way too much smoke; when I open the door, I'm blasted by the cloud of white smoke.  I smoked a Mac & Cheese, as well as a Chicken Cordon Bleu Fatty (pics added for fun), but they seemed to taste oversmoked.  Any ideas/suggestions for adding additional venting to allow the smoke to escape?

Last edited:
Which Amazing did you get?

AMNS dust smoker

AMNPS 5" X 8" Pellet & dust smoker

AMNTS Tube pellet smoker

If it's the 5" X 8" AMNPS, you could try filling it 1/2 full (in height) instead of full.

You could also drill more holes at the top.

Bear

Last edited:
It is indeed the 5x8 AMNPS.  I feel like it should have been intuitive to fill the AMNPS half way; now I feel dumb for having asked the question.  Will give this a go before I keep drilling out the walls on the MES.  Thanks for the tip!!

It is indeed the 5x8 AMNPS.  I feel like it should have been intuitive to fill the AMNPS half way; now I feel dumb for having asked the question.  Will give this a go before I keep drilling out the walls on the MES.  Thanks for the tip!!
LOL---It wasn't dumb to ask, and I'm not even sure how low you can fill it, and still have it work, because I never tried it below 1/4" from the top.

You get to be the experimenter.  Let us know how it works.

Bear