• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Meat Thermometer

referee

Newbie
10
10
Joined Jul 4, 2015
Hi all, I'm pretty new to smoking. I'll be upgrading my smoker at some point but now I have a Brinkmann Electric Gourmet Grill and Smoker.. I want to get a meat thermometer, I don't need anything fancy since I only have the Brinkmann at the moment.  Can anyone give me some advice on this please. I saw people recommending the Maverick ET-733.

Also, are there any issues with the top resting on the Cable? thanks, Bruce
 

jasper7

Smoking Fanatic
385
31
Joined Mar 14, 2013
I use a Thermoworks RT600B, its an instant read digital probe meat thermometer, they cost about $20.
 

referee

Newbie
10
10
Joined Jul 4, 2015
Thanks Jasper....I have an instant read...I'm looking for a probe that stays in the meat with a temp readout so I don't have to loose the heat by taking the top off the Brinkmann...thanks for your reply

Bruce
 

SmokinAl

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
44,665
6,311
Joined Jun 22, 2009
I have a couple of Mavericks, and close the lid on the wires without any problems.

Or you can run the wires thru the top vent, or drill a hole in the side.

Al
 

boykjo

Sausage maker
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
Group Lead
7,171
603
Joined Apr 28, 2010
I like the iDevices iGrill2 Bluetooth Thermometer

I have an older model with only 2 available probes but its bluetooth and you can map your cook with your phone


boykjo
 
Last edited:

dirtsailor2003

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
21,606
3,322
Joined Oct 4, 2012
I have been using the iGrill2 since it came out. I have zero complaints. I have had to replace one of the ambient probes. No big deal. I also have the Maverick 732, which I used until I got the original iGrill, before getting theiGrill2. The maverick now just collects dust and in the event I need a back up I have it. So far that hasn't happened.

I would also recommend getting an instant read therm. I use mine more than the iGrill for cooking and smoking. I like the Lavatool Javelin-Thermowand which can be purchased on Amazon for $25.
 

dr k

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,505
451
Joined Mar 22, 2013
 
I have been using the iGrill2 since it came out. I have zero complaints. I have had to replace one of the ambient probes. No big deal. I also have the Maverick 732, which I used until I got the original iGrill, before getting theiGrill2. The maverick now just collects dust and in the event I need a back up I have it. So far that hasn't happened.

I would also recommend getting an instant read therm. I use mine more than the iGrill for cooking and smoking. I like the Lavatool Javelin-Thermowand which can be purchased on Amazon for $25.
I talked a guy on a Facebook group BBQ page to get one.  MY Thermowand/Javelin is going on three years and is great.  The refrigerator magnet that is inside the therm has  never been that powerful.  Just enough to barely hold it's own weight.  It's convenient but I may have to sick it to another fridge magnet with the opposite pole facing outward.

-Kurt 
 

corkster52

Newbie
19
10
Joined Jul 30, 2016
I just bought a 732 but haven't used it yet. Hope it's not a waste of money. The missus won't be happy.
 

venture

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
6,949
72
Joined Aug 1, 2008
I have used the 732 for quite some time.  On my offset, closing the lid on the wire is no problem.  I do wrap a few inches with a narrow envelope of a couple layers of aluminum foil to give a little more mechanical protection.

Good luck and good smoking.
 

referee

Newbie
10
10
Joined Jul 4, 2015
thanks for the info Dirtsailor,

the iGrill is a little too pricey for the amount of smoking I do... saw it was in the $90s
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.