Looking for Commercial Pepper Slicer

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Cody_Mack

Smoking Fanatic
Original poster
SMF Premier Member
Feb 8, 2021
Fulshear, TX
I’ve been making candied jalapeños for several years now, sharing with friends, giving as gifts and enjoying at parties and just by gosh anytime! After I got laid off (COVID June 2020!) I have been trying to sell a few to bring in some extra spending (Beer and BBQ!) money. When I really get after it, I can make a few hundred dollars with a day or two effort. For last Christmas I made and sold 80 jars, all produced over three days in our kitchen. A couple of months ago, I spent a pretty long day and made 50 jars.

I really want to ramp it up and turn into a steady thing, but the biggest hurdle I have is getting the fresh whole jalapeños sliced into perfectly cut 3/16” slices; pounds of them! I actually do very well with my cheap chef’s knife, one slice at a time. But it’s not getting it for large quantities; I know there’s a gadget that I need, something out there better. A device where I lay down the whole pepper, pull a lever and bamm! I have 12-3/16" slices...Next!

I envision a unit based on the same principal design as an egg slicer. I actually tried that once with a cheap egg slicer we had, and the tough-skinned jalapeño just laughed at the tiny wires as they were grossly stretched out of shape, while hardly making a dent in the pepper…he he