How do you record your Recipes?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

DailyLunatic

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2023
Ban Ko Kaeo, Thailand
I'm just getting started in Sausage Making, so forgive me if this has already been discussed.

I'd been collecting a few recipes that I wanted to try. Almost everything has been 'x' lb. meat, 'x' tablespoon of 'y', etc.

Then I stumbled across a YouTube video where, instead of measures, they presented the spices as 'percentages' of the total weight. Salt=1.98% (i.e. total meats are 4536g [10lbs] and table salt is 1.98% [89.8g])

At first I was like, oh great, math... Then something clunked, and I realized, 'that's scalable'. One Excel Spreadsheet later (yeah I'm nerdy that way), and I just have to fill in a few 'unverified' spice weights (internet disagrees on grams/teaspoon on a few things) A bit of algebra, and I can now take a recipe in tsp, convert to grams, record, and can scale the recipe for the amount of meat I have, up, down, or create a blend. Easy peazy.

So, question is, do you record your recipes as tablespoons, grams, etc., for a set weight (3lb batch), or as % like they did?

-sterling

Everything I do in sausage making or curing in general is scaled as grams. There really are no two spoons that are the same in volume but weight is always right.

Weigh everything and apply ingredients by percentage is the only way to go. No spoon and shovels for me.