Hi! this is Famous Dave

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

famousdave01

Original poster
Apr 29, 2012
Land of Opportunity, USA
Hi this is Famous Dave and I just found this forum. I have been smoking meats, eating barbecue for 45 years. My dad is an old Choctaw Indian from Idabel OK right smack in the Bible belt of the heartland of America. I grew up eating old fashioned Southern foods and the best tasting barbecue. I love traveling the country and discovering the best tasting barbecue in roadside smoke shacks or store front bbq joints in the inner city. Working on a new cook book Famous Daves' BBQ Party Cookbook to be released this late spring! I love going to and competing in Rib Burnoffs and BBQ competitions. I prefer smoking over real wood not off set. My favorite smoker is an old Chicago style aquarium smoker made over 30 years ago. I grew up having to make my own smokers out of garbage cans. Today, I have them all... Southern Prides, CookShacks, Smokey Mountains, Weber Kettles, Traegers, Fast Eddy, Green Eggs, and Meadow Creeks. I guess my favorites are always my real pit aquarium smoker, a simple weber kettle, my green egg, and the Meadow Creek.

"Famous Dave"

Well welcome to the forum! Sounds like you will fit right in. Name sounds familiar from somewhere...
biggrin.gif

Welcome to SMF Dave. Glad you found us here.