Hello from Australia

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Old-Man-Matt

Original poster
Dec 16, 2021
Hi everyone
im an absolute newbie to the smoking world, closest ive been is helping a mate smoke a brisket. by help i mean stand next to the smoker and sink beers.
ive been reading alot on here and i found myself these 2 air tanks that are 15.7" dia and 23.6"long that i wanna turn into a small offset smoker.
ill probably start a build thread once i start cutting and welding. one question if you had access to these tanks would you get a third and join two for a longer cc.
cheers guys

Attachments

• PXL_20211216_094433989.jpg
    PXL_20211216_094433989.jpg
    153.6 KB · Views: 21
Just don't go starting any bush fires! I spent some time in Oz, years back, and only reluctantly left it to come back to the U.S.

As for the smoker, maybe it depends on the availability of future tanks? There's no shame in building a small "test" case and see how you get on with that, before putting together a bigger one at some point in the future. Conversely, if this is more of a one-off, build the smoker of your dreams (or close enough! :emoji_slight_smile:) now so that, right out of the gate, you don't have to compromise more than necessary.The great perk of being a rational creature is the ability to rationalize whatever we want!

Either way, may your lessons be tasty!

Welcome from San Antonio Texas!
texas_zpswacwwmhm.gif

I don't have any input on your pit construction just wanted to say the most recent smoker I purchased is a Fornetto Basso 18".

20210808_125145_copy_600x800.jpg

Reactions: Old-Man-Matt
Just don't go starting any bush fires! I spent some time in Oz, years back, and only reluctantly left it to come back to the U.S.