Hello friends

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

wes w

Master of the Pit
Original poster
OTBS Member
Jul 31, 2012
NW North Carolina
As most know, I'm new to sausage.

I noticed this  when I made my first run a sausage.   I put the polish sausage in the frig a day before smoking.  It did the same thing with the brats when I left them in the frig about a day before I got them vac sealed and froze.  

The skins kinda get brown and tough on top.   I didn't cover them.   Is this normal, should they be covered.  Will it effect the final product?   Thanks for any advice. 

Going to try my luck in a couple weeks with sheep casing.  I'm going to try breakfast sausage with them.

Wes

yes you should cover them with plastic wrap when stored in the fridge. the browness you see will not harm the product since you left it in the fridge but that area of the casing will have a different texture than the ones that did not get exposed. it will be drier.

when i make fresh sausage keep the sausage mix covered in the fridge for about a couple of hours and then stuff and then vacume pac them and freeze them. when i make smoked sausage i keep the sausage mix overnight to let the spices and cure blend. then the next day i stuff and smoke them and when the process is done i vacume pac them.  i do not stuff sausage and then keep them in the fridge. i put the sausage mix bulk in the fridge [covered] in storage in the fridge for later stuffing. Reinhard

Wes, morning..... A refer is a dehydrator....  cold plates condense the moisture and drain it away....  The casings dried out where they were in contact with the air, and where they were touching each other and the plate, they did not dry out...