• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Goose!

leosmith78

Smoke Blower
Joined Dec 28, 2006
I'd like to try to smoke a goose for Christmas. I searched the forums for ideas, but all I found was a lot of questions and not a lot of answers. 

So, has anybody on the forum smoke a goose? If so what tips do you have?

Finishing temp? Smoking temp? Breast up/down/variation? 

tia,

leo

crazymoon

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Aug 24, 2014
LS78, Have you typed "smoked goose " in the search bar above? I've never done one but hopefully you can get some help there!

marctrees

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Oct 1, 2016
Leo - have you ever cooked goose in oven?

If so, you have some experience with what I'm gonna say below.

Again, I am a smoking newbie.

But, I have baked a number of geese and ducks in home oven.

The only comment I have is - Like all poultry, but probably specially Geese and Ducks - I would think you need to cook at a highish temp- like 325 or bit more, for the skin fat to render out.

We used to do the skin razor scoring or pricking thing, and decided not worth the hassle.

Wish I could help more.     Marc

mfreel

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Sep 4, 2013

I brine mine like turkeys.  225 with hickory.  Here's a pic.  Can't remember how long it took, but I think it was about 8 hours.  THis is about a 7 lb Canada goose.

marctrees

Smoking Fanatic
Joined Oct 1, 2016
Leo - So I am interested in this also, when my stars align and I have $, I would lovvve another Goose.

So |I've been Googling since posting here last.

Many say, the thigh temps should be like turkey, 170.

BUT - the breast, like only 145 - NOT 165.

So note and research that.

It's been awhile, so I do not recall what temp we baked ours to.

I would definitely research this, too much $ to experiment with, for me anyway.