First Post

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigkvn1

Fire Starter
Original poster
Jan 11, 2011
California
Wife hooked me up with a Yoder Cheyene for X-mas!  Straight from Kansas to California via Fed Ex.  I've been lurking the forums here for a month or so soaking up all I can.  Yoder has been brought up to temp for 4 hours twice now.  Wiped out the inside with peanut oil after the first burn.  Shes now ready  for the real deal.  Alittle about me.  I have been cooking full course meals in the kitchen for about 10 yrs now.  Tons of gas grill experience aswell.  However, I'm new to the smoke world!  I've been a professiononal firefighter for about 12 yrs, and thats where I picked up the passion for cooking.  Kicking back in the kitchen for a few hours a day making feasts for the last 10yrs has made me a crowd favorite with family and friends:)  If all goes right I should push all in next week w/ my first real smoke....  I'll document everything and post it up for you guys!

Kevin 

Hi Kevin. Welcome to SMF!

I think alot of us were cook s , chefs and qers b4 we started smoking.

I love my time in the kitchen just as much as my time at the smoker.

Smoking just gives you more time to drink beer and socialize.

If ya got any special recipes from you kitchen that you want to share there is a place to post them . If you ever want any cajun recipes ,Just let me know.

Welcome any Idea what your first smoke will be?  Chicken quarters is a great start but if you are like me you are wanting a nice long first smoke.  I say go with Pulled pork that will give you enough time to learn the inns and outs of you smoker when you have a big chunk of meat in it.  You are gonna like it here.