First attempt at smoking will be a Turkey Breast.... WithQview now

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

cbennett

Original poster
Jul 19, 2010
Central PA
Ok guys I just got my smoker last Wed night. I seasoned it on Saturday by doing a hour and 15 min burn at about 225 with some mesquite wood chips.. Wife said she wants me to smoke a Turkey Breast this coming weekend....We had a awesome smoked turkey breast from our friends cookout a few weeks ago and im hoping to get close to what he did(he has a giant 50-55 gallon drum offset smoker) I have a Forge Master 2 door propane cabinet smoker..Ok questions are what Rub to use for poultry..ive got one thought out but not set on it yet...and ive got 2 woods I can use...mesquite or Hickory...so which wood...thanks in advance for any advice or tips.....im assuming(which could be a bad thing) that 225 for about 4 hours give or take will get it about right(I also just bought a meat thermometer to monitor that..its digital so I wont have to keep opening the smoker to check temp.)

use the search for different ways of doing it and you cant go wrong

it'll have brines, seasoning , types of wood that's been used and qview pictues

that will have you licking your computer screen lol

I use a poultry seasoning and some Tony's cajun spice, It dosent need to anything extravagant just well covered inside and out. Leave the skin on but get the rub underit without breaking the skin, just start at the point of the breastbone and work your fingers under to separate create a gap. And breast down for the first hour or so.

I would go with the Hickory. And get a spritz with anything  but have some honey or maple syrup mixed in.