Firs time making bacon

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

JBPilot

Smoke Blower
Original poster
Sep 29, 2019
Arkansas
Ok guys, this is my first time making bacon. I‘m planning on cold smoking it using my amnps tray with cherry dust. I’m planning on doing 3-4 6-8 hour smokes with a rest in the fridge overnight in between. I am using a basic recipe from here consisting of .25% cure #1, 1.5% coarse ground kosher salt (coarse ground is all I had), and .75% brown sugar. I put all that into a bag and mixed it well then added the pork belly and made sure the whole thing is covered in the cure mix. I’m planning to flip/massage the belly every day or other day for 10-12 days before I start the cold smoke process.

1.802Kg Belly
45.05g cure #1
270.3g salt
135.15g brown sugar

Can y’all just tell me if I’m off base here? Does this all look right?

Here’s a few pictures just because everyone loves pictures!
BF2E55D2-E7C1-4CEB-91D9-23161665D9B1.jpeg
B9E45D32-3CA4-4152-A409-7236CDD24DD2.jpeg

Your math is way off. I think you moved a decimal point somewhere. 4.5 grams of #1 is .25% of 1802 grams. Same for your salt at 1.5% (27.03 grams) and sugar at. 75% (13.5 grams)

That much #1 is 2.5 % which is way too high. I don't know where that puts you at ppm but I'm sure it's off the chart, as in unsafe to eat.

Last edited:
Crap, I’ll wash it off now. Thanks for the catch! Looking at my numbers now it should have been obvious that I was using WAAAAYYY too much!

it had only been on there for an hour or so, shouldn’t be a problem to just wash it off and start over right?

Last edited:
Crap, I’ll wash it off now. Thanks for the catch! Looking at my numbers now it should have been obvious that I was using WAAAAYYY too much!