Cover for electric smoker w/ mounted slow smoker?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Kvn K

Original poster
Jan 14, 2019
Does anyone make a cover to fit over a 30” electric smoker that has a cold/slow smoker attachment mounted on the side?

I have a Masterbuilt smoker with this Masterbuilt slow smoker unit:

Some have searched covers for stacked outdoor chairs and search by your measured dimentions.

I do keep it outside. I'll look into the patio chair cover idea- thanks!

I covered my MES 30 when I first got it... In a couple days, the interior was a fuzz ball of mold.... No more... vents wide open now.... air flow is good... stagnant air is bad...
My smoker is under the roof on the porch....

My old Kamado would get moldy between smokes- that's definitely something I want to avoid... think I'll hold off on the cover for now.

I always clean the racks ,pans and everything removable then burn it off at 275 for an hour before storing it. I guess it also depends on the climate it lives in.

I have the largest of the five for my Gen 1 40 at $22.95 and it has extra room for air circulation. Measure the rear handle if you have one to the front of the door and left to right including slow smoker attachment and the height. They are nice covers. I don't believe the largest cover fits an Mes 40 with attachment. I don't have the attachment. I would compare your actual dimensions to the ones offered before purchasing just to be sure.

I always cover my MES. If you keep yours outside, you should as well.

Why?

I have done component-level repair on the MES controller, and it is NOT properly shielded from moisture and will fail if it gets wet. A cover is mandatory for outdoor storage.