Compatible pellets for Z Grill

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Emiliano

Original poster
May 1, 2018
Hi all. Newbie here.

I received a Z Grill pellet smoker. Z Grill does make their own pellets but they're pricey. There are cheaper options elsewhere. Anyone know if all pellets are interchangeable and if not, which brands work with Z grill?

Thanks!

Welcome! Grilling pellets are all interchangable. There are 100s of threads on this site covering this topic. Its really going to boil down to what you prefer. I would say a majortiy here buy Lumberjack if they are available in your area, they tell you exactly what is in their pellets, some other brands will say 100% but will actually be a blend. Personally I use Camp Chef Pellets, 20# for $12, for flavor as they burn extremely efficient and leave behind little ash. If I am not worried about flavor and more just the heat I use the Pit Boss Comp Blend as I can get a 40# bag for $26.

Reactions: Emiliano
As said there are a zillion makers of pellets and many are 100% stated wood flavor and some have a filler woods of oak or alder(which are not bad woods) but are still 100% hardwood.

I have had my camp chef pellet cooker for 2.5 years and have ran nothing but pit boss pellets because they are always available and at a good price at my local walmart.

the competition blend is now made with maple/hickory/apple the old blend was the same but with cherry instead of apple. I have had great luck with the pit boss hickory.

i would say try what you have local and you find priced right and you like then venture out now and then to try other stuff

Reactions: Emiliano