Can I cook brisket medium rare?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

BC Buck

Meat Mopper
Original poster
Dec 16, 2018
MO
Last packer I trimmed out had a part of flat about 1/2" thick. I trimmed off weighing about 14 oz. thinking could cook like flank steak for tacos. Now Im wondering if it would be to tuff even sliced thin. What do you guys suggest.

Reactions: JLeonard
I think if you slice anything thin enough it would be tender, but I'm no brisket expert I'm sure some of the pros will jump in.

Reactions: chopsaw
Here's a thread on Chuck pectoral . It's the muscle that sits on top of the brisket . Between the animal and the brisket itself .
It's kind off flat like it texture .

Here's another one messing around with a brisket . Not sure if it was from the flat or not .

Might be an idea in there somewhere . I see now that you have a very small piece . Marinate it for a couple hours . Grill it like flank steak . Slice across the grain on a bias . I bet it's good .

Your NW of me a few miles but not sure what store GFS is. Doing like you suggested and have in Mexican seasoned marinade at 131 temp in SV. Only going to be able to soak about 5 hours. Will see if raining tonight weather grill or using cast iron to sear. Thanks

Your best bet is to grind it to use in sausage or hamburger meat. Conider buying a smaller chuck roast and grind them together.
Trying to SV then sear. This will be the live and learn experience. If not edible will leave with fat for venison grinding next time.

Reactions: tallbm and thirdeye
s but not sure what store GFS is.
Gordons food service . It's a restaurant supply store .