Burnt Crust

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

mdrose1

Original poster
Apr 14, 2010
Missouri
Hi -- I'm a newbie and having lots of fun, but ----

I am getting a hard black crust (burned) on my pork butt. There is a nice bark (under the outer layer), but this is on the outer layer.

Meat is falling off bone and tastes great once I use a pick axe & mix together.

Am I using toooooo much SUGAR/BROWN SUGAR in my rub??

Rub goes on and #8 pork butt sits out for 1-2 hours before going in Off Set Smoker.
Using lump and hickory
Smoke for 10+ hrs at 225-250
Using a dual probe therm
smoker therm was reading about 250
grill therm was about 220 -- think the difference in temp was the height of the probes???

Internal temp 200

BBQ RUB

3 cup -- Sugar
3 cup -- Brown Sugar
1 cup -- Paprika
2 cup -- kosher salt
2 cup -- chili seasoning
2 cup -- black pepper
1 cup -- dry mustard
1 cup -- onion powder
1 cup -- garlic powder
1/3cup -- cayenne pepper

any help is appreciated

Thanks

Dick

at first when i seen the 6 cups of sugars i was thinking has to be the problem but looking at other rub recipies i have used, not made in a bulk like yours is but the sugar content is really not much difference than the ones i have used. some less, some more... the only thing i have never used is the white sugar... maybe the white sugar is what is causing the problem??? just a thought am sure someone who knows more about this will chime in soon if that could be it.

Welcome to the site! IMO you answered your own question....To much sugar!