Brisket Brined for PASTRAMI Question

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

MyHandsRBurning

Original poster
Jan 23, 2021
Sudbury Canada
Hi All ....
Here's the deal .... New NEW Newbie on here ... So am learning how this all works. From Northern Canada ...
I've been smoking for about 5 yrs now - Started with a little Bradley Kettle Smoker - Then onto an Oklahoma Joe and Bradley 6 rack digital.
I use both the latest ones now. Last week I trimmed and cut an 11 pound brisket to smoke in a couple of weeks. I've got them in 2 Brining Pots, but have to store them outdoors on my deck. Was going to Brine for 2 1/2 - 3 weeks.

My question is: If the meat goes through a 'Freeze 'n Thaw' cycle many times...
Will this affect the meat & final product?

As I said, I'm in Canada and the Temp. gets down to -20 C. I don't have any room in my fridge or kitchen so I store them on the deck - but bring them indoors during the day - then back outside. They've NEVER been in the temperature "Danger Zone"

Any help / advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks much.

Welcome from CO.
You are fine with the meat. Freezing bursts the cells in the meat. The more times this done freeze/thaw the more cells are ruptured. In the end you will have a fine product that is less capable of carrying moisture. In other words the final product will be less juicy. Otherwise it’s fine and usually juicy enough. Never can beat fresh, but sometimes we work with what we have.

Welcome from CO.