Bitter smoke.

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

xpumasx

Original poster
Feb 3, 2011
RI
I'm smoking with a double barrel UDS smoker and I am still learning how to control it precisely. I have smoked plenty before using a MES with great... No awesome results. I'm a little bummed about what's coming out of the UDS. The food has a very strong bitter taste. I'm assuming it's creosote. Could it also be from coal briquettes?

No it has to be from too much white smoke or your rub. Charcoal will not give you a bitter taste.

Not an expert on these but it could be stale smoke in the food chamber....not enough smoke getting out the vent. I've read other posts on here where guys have the exhaust damper pretty much closed off & not allowing stale smoke to escape giving the same result. I'm sure there will be other double barrel guys around soon with more advice.

Either to much smoke or not enough air flow or both.

I've been told that these kinds of smokers could be fueled with an all wood fire. The issue we are having is that to keep the temp in the right zone, we need to burn a good amount of wood. Once we out a new log on, we do get a large white cloud of smoke. What's the secret to keeping the fire hot enough, that when you put a new log in, you don't get this kind of smoke? Ive even debated just using lump coal in e fire basket and throw a few wood chunks in every hour.

Try pre-heating your logs by keeping them on top of the fire box, they shoud take right off burning when you put them in the firebox,thus minimizing the white smoke.

Yea, the MES is fantastic. I wanted to take a shot a learn wood pit smoking. I am finding that there is a lot of science behind it.