Big Green Egg vs Traeger Pro and Offset Wood Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

bigfoote

Fire Starter
Original poster
Nov 10, 2012
Hot Springs Village, AR
I've been using a BGE for over 15 years and like the results as far as the actual cooking of meat, but I don't think I get the smokey flavor of an offset wood smoker. Lately I've been thinking of getting a pellet smoker, i.e., Traeger Pro 34. At my age I don't plan on staying up all night watching an offset smoker, but a pellet smoker I can set and forget for a while does interest me. Can someone tell me if a Traeger will give the same smokey flavor of a offset wood smoker, or compare the smokey flavor imparted by a Traeger vs offset and BGE? I mainly smoke Boston Butts, ribs (babyback and spare), and Prime Rib. I would appreciate any information regarding comparisons between these types of smokers. (I have a large and a XL BGE, and don't need another smoker. But I'm thinking I may want another one. You know that itch you sometimes get.)

I used to own a pellet smoker and now own an offset. The smoke flavor of an offset stickburner is the gold standard in my opinion but you can still get a good clean yet light smoke flavor from a pellet smoker. If all else fails you can add a pellet smoker tube to add smoke flavor if the flavor isn’t strong enough for you. I don’t mind tending an offset since my cooking style is hot and fast but I might favor a pellet smoker if that wasn’t the case.

BKING thanks for replying. I agree that the offset is the bar as far as smoke flavor goes, but I am a LOW and SLOW when smoking. I have a FireMagic for most of my grilling needs, with a Weber Kettle for just having some fun. Can you compare the pellet smoker flavor to the BGE?