Another New Smoker

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

chizotz

Original poster
Jul 16, 2013
I'm from Columbia, MO, and I'm planning my first smoke this coming weekend. I have some questions, but this may not be the most appropriate place though so I'll look for that next. I bought Jeff's recipes and basics guide. After years of casually thinking of giving smoking meats a try, I'm finally serious about doing it.

I'm 48 years old, married, have a 6-year old son, and by trade I'm a computer software architect/programmer and database engineer. My official title is Systems Administrator, but I do way more than that at work.

At the moment, I just have a CharBroil Patio Bistro electric grill, which I have ordered the smoking rack for. The grill was my wife's choice, but before I invest in a true dedicated smoker I wanted to get my feet wet first and know I want to do it frequently, so this is where I'm starting. If it works out, I'll be looking to get a real smoker before too long.

Hi everybody :)

Ron

Ron
welcome1.gif

Glad you joined the group. The search bar at the top of any page is your best friend.
About anything you wanna know about smoking/grilling/curing/brining/cutting or slicing
and the list goes on has probably been posted. Remember to post a QVIEW of your smokes.
We are all smoke junkies here and we have to get our fix. If you have questions Post it
and you will probably get 10 replies with 11 different answers. That is because their
are so many different ways to make great Q We all have our own taste.

Happy smoken.

David