• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Advertisements

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I don't know if anybody noticed this, but just lately when I click on posted pictures from various members, including my own, some of the ads on the side of the page, leave their place on the sidelines, and jump right in front of the picture I want to zoom in on. Are they supposed to be doing that?

If I want to see a nice piece of perfectly cooked Beef or Pork, I'd rather not have some of it blocked out by a "Toyota" ad!!!

I'm sure it's just an oversight???

Thanks,

Bear
 

dairyman

Fire Starter
47
10
Joined Oct 19, 2010
I use Mozilla Firefox as my web browser. They have an app called adblock plus. Blocks all ads on all web pages. And it's free.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I use Mozilla Firefox as my web browser. They have an app called adblock plus. Blocks all ads on all web pages. And it's free.
See Below.


What ads??
See below.
 


Bear are you using IE
I have an iMac, and use safari.

OK guys how about doing a test for me???

Go to my "Bear" post, and scroll down to the picture of the Bear on a pallet on a fork lift.

Here's the link:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/fo...r-could-be-offensive-pictures-to-anti-hunters

Now click on the picture of the bear on the pallet, on the fork lift, to zoom in on the picture.

Does the "Toyotathon" ad end up on the zoomed picture?

Thanks guys,

Bear
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
 
Last edited:

solaryellow

Limited Mod
Group Lead
2,892
58
Joined Jul 26, 2009
Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol
 
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
 
Last edited:

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Nope not for me I could zoom just fine.

That ad changes. It depends on which ad it is. If it's a Toyota ad to the right of the picture you want to zoom, it does it every time.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol
 
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.
 

solaryellow

Limited Mod
Group Lead
2,892
58
Joined Jul 26, 2009
lol You are barking up the wrong tree again Bear. You do know I am a network engineer right? For the sake of your smugness I will reply anyway. I use Linux on 6 of my 7 home computers. Even so, I do have antivirus protection on all of the Linux machines which coincidentally your Mac is based on. Of the 150 servers I have at work, roughly 40 of them are Linux and the remaining 110 are Windows. I also have some off hours customers that use Macs who are also under the impression that malware doesn't exist for the Mac which is simply an untrue statement. Enjoy your false sense of security. You do need an antivirus and spyware scanner even if you aren't running Windoze. 
 
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.
 

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
8,762
1,290
Joined Jun 1, 2008
Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol
 
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.

Bear this last statement is not accurate. I also have a Mac. Mac arent as targeted for Viruses and Spywares but they are out there and do target Mac's. I run a anti virus program just to be safe.

As for the ad. I tried a couple times and it worked just fine with no pop up. Now that being said I know you have better things to do then to make up something so I am going to try it thru out the day to see if I can duplicate it. If it happens again to you then go to www.smokingmeatforums.com/feedback and fill it out. This will go to huddler and they can get it addressed. Ill also email them with a FYI.

Thanks for letting us know you having this issue Bear.

Brian
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
lol You are barking up the wrong tree again Bear. You do know I am a network engineer right? For the sake of your smugness I will reply anyway. I use Linux on 6 of my 7 home computers. Even so, I do have antivirus protection on all of the Linux machines which coincidentally your Mac is based on. Of the 150 servers I have at work, roughly 40 of them are Linux and the remaining 110 are Windows. I also have some off hours customers that use Macs who are also under the impression that malware doesn't exist for the Mac which is simply an untrue statement. Enjoy your false sense of security. You do need an antivirus and spyware scanner even if you aren't running Windoze. 
 
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.
Not trying to be smug.

I'm just tired of every time something is wrong with this new platform, it is MY computer. Just like getting bumped off 6 or 7 times in a 24 hour period. They say that's my computer, although once in awhile they admit they've been doing some upgrades (which is fine). Then I'll go two months without having to log on. I guess that means my computer fixed itself.

As for barking up the wrong tree, and my being "smug", I believe it was you who said "[color= rgb(24, 24, 24)]Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol". I only replied to that![/color]

And when you use the word "again" leaves me to believe that you still hold a grudge from being told something you were doing wasn't really very safe, because I don't think I ever attacked anyone on this forum, without it being in defense. If I find something I believe to be unsafe, first I make sure I'm right. Then I let them know, because I don't want others to do the same thing. If that happens to be you, it wasn't anything personal.

Bear
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol
 
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.

Bear this last statement is not accurate. I also have a Mac. Mac arent as targeted for Viruses and Spywares but they are out there and do target Mac's. I run a anti virus program just to be safe.

As for the ad. I tried a couple times and it worked just fine with no pop up. Now that being said I know you have better things to do then to make up something so I am going to try it thru out the day to see if I can duplicate it. If it happens again to you then go to www.smokingmeatforums.com/feedback and fill it out. This will go to huddler and they can get it addressed. Ill also email them with a FYI.

Thanks for letting us know you having this issue Bear.

Brian
Thanks Brian,

Today the only ad that was doing it is the Toyotathon ad. The others are fine.
 

As for the virus thing,

Actually when you look at it from my point of view that statement was correct.

This computer is owned by my wife's boss. My wife's boss says it doesn't need a virus blocker. Therefore I do not need one.

Bear
 

DanMcG

Smoking Guru
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
5,239
1,598
Joined Feb 3, 2009
no issues here bear.

And just to side track this thread a little. I Googled Macungie, PA and along with the map of the area it had pic thumbnails . One was a carved bear. is that one of yours?

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/3107559
 
Last edited:

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,600
139
Joined Dec 29, 2009
Hey Bear!

I click on the pic and all I see is a "Naked Bear"!

Gotta change my brand of "Beer Goggles"!

Todd
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
no issuse here bear.

And just to side track this thread a little. I Googled Macungie, PA and along with the map of the area it had pic thumbnails . One was a carved bear. is that one of yours?

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/3107559
No Dan,

That's not a wood carving. I saw it in Macungie. That thing is some kind of phenolic resin or something. It's a casting.

They had it for sale at the Barnyard Market for awhile, but it was way to expensive for anybody to buy.
 
 

thebarbequeen

Smoking Fanatic
876
12
Joined Aug 22, 2010
No ad issues  in my computer. Running a plain old dell laptop with windows vista.  But GEEZ!!! what a big bear that was!  I've only had bear twice, a roast cut into cubes and cooked on a stick over a fire like marshmallows - it was tasty!
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol
 
I double checked before I wrote the above, and it was still happening.

Since I posted post #5 above, I went there again, and the Toyotathon ad was gone.

Maybe somebody got rid of it???

This is not the first time this has happened.

Every now and then one of the ads leaves the side area & gets on top of SMF stuff.

I would not be too quick to blame an iMac. I believe they are more advanced than the average box of doodads.

Bear

On Edit: I just checked again, and there is a different Toyota ad doing the same thing again.

Try my test above.
What virus scan do you use?

I don't need any.

Bear this last statement is not accurate. I also have a Mac. Mac arent as targeted for Viruses and Spywares but they are out there and do target Mac's. I run a anti virus program just to be safe.

As for the ad. I tried a couple times and it worked just fine with no pop up. Now that being said I know you have better things to do then to make up something so I am going to try it thru out the day to see if I can duplicate it. If it happens again to you then go to www.smokingmeatforums.com/feedback and fill it out. This will go to huddler and they can get it addressed. Ill also email them with a FYI.

Thanks for letting us know you having this issue Bear.

Brian
Brian,

Wait until you see the "Toyota" ad on the right of the page. Then click on whatever picture is to the left of that ad.

That is when it does it. All of the other ads seem to be alright at this time.

Bear
 

deannc

Master of the Pit
1,153
24
Joined Jun 13, 2010
Worked fine for me...maybe Toyota implemented another recall since you last had the problem.  hehe 
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.