• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

Advertisements

ak1

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,373
70
Joined Feb 23, 2010
No problems yet from my end Bear.

Although, I haven't yet seen the Toyota ad.
 

tom37

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
1,649
21
Joined Sep 24, 2009
Bear I was looking with all my might and couldn't find the adds. Bad Me, I had the adds turned off, but I went in and turned them on to try and see if it would mess up for me. The only add I get is the dicks sporting goods add. But it stays right where its suppose to when I enlarge the pic. I even tried it on all three pics. I also went into one of my threads that is loaded with pics and it would not act up in there either.

Sorry man, I was trying to get it to mess up on me as well but had no luck.
 

meateater

Legendary Pitmaster
SMF Premier Member
8,984
61
Joined Oct 17, 2009
I'm running IE and Norton super duper and the pic came up like it should, no problemo.
 

mballi3011

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
14,478
55
Joined Mar 12, 2009


Bear I thought oif you were a Premium Member that all those ads go away.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I haven't seen that Toyota ad since last night, and it hasn't happened since.

That might be the lone culprit ad----Figures---Toyerta !

Thanks All,

Bear
 

solaryellow

Limited Mod
Group Lead
2,892
58
Joined Jul 26, 2009
I am just noticing a pattern. That is all.
 
Not trying to be smug.

I'm just tired of every time something is wrong with this new platform, it is MY computer. Just like getting bumped off 6 or 7 times in a 24 hour period. They say that's my computer, although once in awhile they admit they've been doing some upgrades (which is fine). Then I'll go two months without having to log on. I guess that means my computer fixed itself.

As for barking up the wrong tree, and my being "smug", I believe it was you who said "[color= rgb(24, 24, 24)]Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol". I only replied to that![/color]

And when you use the word "again" leaves me to believe that you still hold a grudge from being told something you were doing wasn't really very safe, because I don't think I ever attacked anyone on this forum, without it being in defense. If I find something I believe to be unsafe, first I make sure I'm right. Then I let them know, because I don't want others to do the same thing. If that happens to be you, it wasn't anything personal.

Bear
 

richoso1

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
8,433
39
Joined Jun 21, 2007
I tried the link, and zoomed it by 400%, but I couldn't duplicate the issue. I'm using Windows XP Pro, version 7 and have the anti-virus active. I sincerely hope this can be cleared up for those thaty are experiencing this problem.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I tried the link, and zoomed it by 400%, but I couldn't duplicate the issue. I'm using Windows XP Pro, version 7 and have the anti-virus active. I sincerely hope this can be cleared up for those thaty are experiencing this problem.

I PM'd Brian, and explained to him how to make it happen. Maybe he'll get to the bottom of it. It's not that big a deal anyway.

As long as I'm here, allow me to explain my thoughts on MAC & viruses.

We have had all kinds PCs, but this is the first iMac we ever used.

With all of those PCs we had, we always had either Norton, McAfee, or AVG protection. We still always got viruses, trojan horses or whatever, even though no Porn or crap like that was ever invited, and we never opened anything that looked in the least bit suspect.

Now for about a year we have been using an iMac27. My wife's boss owns it, and he said it doesn't need any kind of virus protection. I'm not about to add anything that the owner doesn't want installed (I use it for FREE). So after a year now, there doesn't seem to be any bad things crawling around inside---without any protection like we had in all those other computers that became infected on a regular basis.

Thank you all for your help,

Bear
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
I am just noticing a pattern. That is all.
 
Not trying to be smug.

I'm just tired of every time something is wrong with this new platform, it is MY computer. Just like getting bumped off 6 or 7 times in a 24 hour period. They say that's my computer, although once in awhile they admit they've been doing some upgrades (which is fine). Then I'll go two months without having to log on. I guess that means my computer fixed itself.

As for barking up the wrong tree, and my being "smug", I believe it was you who said "[color= rgb(24, 24, 24)]Most people who use Apple products think they are more "advanced". lol". I only replied to that![/color]

And when you use the word "again" leaves me to believe that you still hold a grudge from being told something you were doing wasn't really very safe, because I don't think I ever attacked anyone on this forum, without it being in defense. If I find something I believe to be unsafe, first I make sure I'm right. Then I let them know, because I don't want others to do the same thing. If that happens to be you, it wasn't anything personal.

Bear
Me Too
 

tjohnson

Smoking Guru
Staff member
Moderator
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Insider
5,600
139
Joined Dec 29, 2009
Me Three!

TJ
 

princess

Smoking Fanatic
420
25
Joined Jul 28, 2010
I did your test and had no problem. i have a Dell, running Windows, use Firefox with lots of AdBlock.

Also, for such a cute nerd, I am totally computer-brainless... so maybe do not ask me anything else!!  :)
 

richoso1

Legendary Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
8,433
39
Joined Jun 21, 2007
I did your test and had no problem. i have a Dell, running Windows, use Firefox with lots of AdBlock.

Also, for such a cute nerd, I am totally computer-brainless... so maybe do not ask me anything else!!  :)
Cute nerds are always excepted... computer is optional. It's all good my friend.
 

meateater

Legendary Pitmaster
SMF Premier Member
8,984
61
Joined Oct 17, 2009
Hey Bear, it could also be your ISP. I have mine through Cox, a rather large company with a great service. Some rural providers, not so much. Mine  provides protection before I log in and I have norton on top of that.
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
This is like beating a dead horse, but since so many of you are being nice enough to try this, I'll tell you what I have found out by playing around with it:

I put the (Bear) link below again to make it easy for you.

#1   Go to that link.

#2   Position the page vertically, so that the Genuardi's ad is near the middle of the page vertically, but make sure a picture (in this case the top picture) is still on the screen, so that you are able to left click on it. This way the picture will have to open on top of the Genuardi's ad. Click on the picture. The Genuardi's ad seems to be protecting itself from being hidden, by coming through the picture you zoomed in on.

Did that work for anybody else?

It doesn't really bother me, but when this Huddler took over, the deal was they were going to have ads, but they were going to be out of the way, and not interfering with the forum. Sounded fair to me, but this is interfering. Like I said, it doesn't really bother me. Right now I'm trying to figure out why I'm the only one able to cause this.

If I position my screen vertically so that the picture will open up, without being over the ad, it won't do it for me either.

Link:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/fo...r-could-be-offensive-pictures-to-anti-hunters

Thanks again guys,

Bear
 

ak1

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
2,373
70
Joined Feb 23, 2010
Bear,

I don't see that Genuardi's ad.

That has me thinking that the forum places different ads depending on the members location.
 

bmudd14474

Legendary Pitmaster
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
OTBS Member
★ Lifetime Premier ★
Group Lead
8,762
1,290
Joined Jun 1, 2008
I have notified Huddler and they will address this. Thanks Bear. 
 

Bearcarver

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Group Lead
38,713
11,359
Joined Sep 12, 2009
Bear,

I don't see that Genuardi's ad.

That has me thinking that the forum places different ads depending on the members location.
You are more than likely right !
 


I have notified Huddler and they will address this. Thanks Bear. 
Thanks Brian,

As I told you in the PM, it doesn't really bother me, because I know how to make it happen, and I now know how to make it not happen. My main concern was that ads are interfering with the forum, but since others can't even make it happen, I guess it isn't.

The way it acts on this computer is as if the ads are protecting themselves from being covered by the "Zoomed in" pictures being expanded over them, so the ads end up on top.

Thanks to all,

Bear
 

princess

Smoking Fanatic
420
25
Joined Jul 28, 2010
As someone who literally visits the SMF from all around the country, I agree with the "ads switch based on location" theory.
 

Latest posts

Hot Threads

Top Bottom
  AdBlock Detected

We noticed that you're using an ad-blocker, which could block some critical website features. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.