• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.

1st attempt Sausage

shakyleg

Fire Starter
Joined Dec 8, 2013
First off I will say if not for this forum I don't think I would have known what to do! I have been smoking meat for many years and truly enjoy trying new things.

This time my new "thing" was to process and prepare my own venison into 1. Pan sausage, 2. Link sausage and 3. Jerky.

The pan sausage was the first thing I made. 10lbs of probably the best pan sausage I have ever had. Everyone who tried it couldn't believe I actually did the entire process myself.

The second thing I made was the link sausage. It turned out absolutely amazing. I took a few links to every destination we had for Christmas and again nobody wanted to believe I made it.

The jerky was the final thing I made on Christmas Day and it was just as good as any beef jerky I have ever made if not better.

I couldn't have done it if not for this amazing site. So many hours of researching threads and finding the "do's and don'ts" resulted in absolute perfection. Especially considering it was my first attempt.

daveomak

SMF Hall of Fame Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Nov 12, 2010
Shaky, afternoon...... I feel the same.... This is a great forum with outstanding members.....

Dave

woodcutter

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
Joined Jul 2, 2012
From now on you will be really sorry the years you don't get a deer. Your sausage looks great!

disco

Epic Pitmaster
OTBS Member
SMF Premier Member
Joined Oct 31, 2012
Well, now that you are a member of the forum, you are adding to the great information! I also hate to be the one to tell you, you are now addicted to sausage making.

Disco

shoneyboy

Master of the Pit
OTBS Member
Joined Nov 3, 2010