Wood Chips or Wood Chunks?

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

kwhaldem

Original poster
Jun 22, 2022
Hello. Newbie here. Family gifted me a Smokin Tex 1400 for Fathers Day. Is there a general preference for using wood chips or wood chunks? The smoker came with hickory chunks for seasoning and a bag of cherry wood chips for smoking. I ask because when seasoning I put in the wood chunks and 4 hours later there was small wisps of smoke still coming out. First smoke was baby backs, put in the recommended amount of wood chips based on rib weight for a 4 hour smoke, but after 1.5 hours no more smoke.
Can wood get old, go flat, become less desirable with too much age? TIA. -Karl

Welcome from Virginia! I’m not familiar with your smoker, but wood doesn’t really go flat. It can get moisture or get moldy, but they don’t get stale. You want them dry. Most smokers are designed for a certain type of wood, but people experiment and use what is safe and provides best results for them. I’ve personally only had luck with chips in the MES, but better results with some slight modifications. If you had luck with the chunk I’d stick with that!

Thank you Jed. When a recipe calls for a 4 hour smoke should there be smoke for 4 hours or if the smoke stops after 1.5 hour (my first smoke) should I add more wood or leave it alone for rest of the time?

If I want 4 hours of smoke and it stops smoking at 1.5 hours, I add more chips or chunks depending on which I am using. Experiment and enjoy your smokes

Reactions: bauchjw
Is it an electric, charcoal, or propane smoker? My smokers are all charcoal and I use wood chunks. Chips burn up to quickly.

Chris