Why is the mailbox mod better for MES

• Some of the links on this forum allow SMF, at no cost to you, to earn a small commission when you click through and make a purchase. Let me know if you have any questions about this.
SMF is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

jp71291

Original poster
Oct 14, 2019
I'm just curious what the advantages are and if it is worth me doing it. I've been using my MES for over two years without the mod. Just trying to see what I may be missing out on.

The mailbox mod is a cleaner easier way to use the A-MAZE-N 8x5 tray than just sticking it in the smoke chamber. You'll get a better draft thru the chamber, you don't have to worry about fat rendering on the pellets and causing then to not smoulder properly. You can fill your smoker and not worry about a place to set the tray.

I say all this and I don't even use the mod. I do use the 8x5, 6' tube, an adjustable oval tube, as well as the MES cold smoke attachment. The mod. is a nicer cleaner easier way to do smoke. Is it worth your time and effort? Thats completely up to you.

Reactions: dr k
Don't have to reload the chip tray every 30-40 min is the biggest benefit. I load the amazen tray and can smoke with dust approx.6- 7 hrs. Tray of pellets 8-10 hrs. Cleaner smoke also.

Reactions: dr k and GATOR240
And the temperature is constant, on the pellets or dust, giving consistent smoking times... You can cold smoke due to the pellets not heating up the smoker...
I cold smoke between 50-70F...

Reactions: GATOR240
mailbox int..jpg mailbox ext..jpg Mailbox mod hooked up.jpg LEGS 4.jpg

Reactions: Jabiru
For me I use the 6" tube with ubolt mod and ground pellets.I put it in the bottom left under the water pan.I generally get between 5-6 hours of continuous tbs.